Province of West Kent



Province of West Kent

Provinces serve two main functions, principally that of administration but also as a focus of identity – being based upon historic counties. There are  too many Lodges and brethren meeting under the United Grand Lodge of England to be readily administered from its headquarters in London. Some of the administration powers and responsibilities are therefore delegated to Provincial Grand Masters who are appointed and hold office under a patent granted by the Grand Master.

The Lodges in each Province are regulated under bylaws approved by the Province whilst the Provincial Grand Master, his Deputy, Assistants and administrative team, all appointed by him, lead and conduct the business of the Province.

The Province of Kent was formed by the Grand Lodge of the Moderns in 1770 with the Hon. Robert Boyle Walsingham as its first Provincial Grand Master.

By 1973 there were so many Lodges in Kent that the decision was taken to divide the Province into two, East Kent and West Kent. The boundary between the two new Provinces was drawn so that West Kent lies approximately West of a line between Greenhithe and Gravesend from Dartford via Wrotham to Tunbridge Wells.

If you have any questions to ask or are interested in joining Freemasonry, phone the Provincial Office or email the Membership Team who will guide you through the process.

Contact Us

14 + 2 =

Provincial Office Tel:
020 8462 9249

Latest News

Almoner Information – GDPR Rules

The following communications release regarding GDPR rules has been received from the Grand Secretary and needs your attention. The refered FAQ's are also attached to this email. I write to you in your capacity as Lodge or Chapter Almoner. Traditionally, many Lodges...

read more

Coronavirus FAQs

The Grand Secretary has issued the following information regarding administrative FAQ that cover most questions that have arisen following the suspension of meetings.....

read more

Feel free to get in touch

West Kent Freemasons